Assigning, Tagging, and Managing Inbox Conversations
The SlickText Inbox lets you control how conversations are assigned, who can view them, how they are tagged, and when they are closed — helping your team respond faster and stay organized. This article covers how to configure assignment, tagging, and closing settings to optimize your team's workflow.
In this article:
Assigning Conversations
Using Conversation Tags
Closing Conversations
Before We Begin
Only SlickText Inbox users can access the Inbox. If you don’t see the Inbox in your left-side navigation panel, contact your account owner or a user with User Management permissions to request access.
|
Term |
Definition |
|
Inbox Manager |
A SlickText user with access to all aspects of the inbox. They can start, assign, tag, and see all conversations regardless of how the inbox settings are configured. |
|
Inbox User |
A SlickText user with access to the inbox. Their abilities and access can be restricted by which inbox settings are enabled. |
|
Inbox Tags |
A tag is a label that allows you to organize or flag a conversation based on common attributes. |
Assigning Conversations
Depending on how your team works and how you are using your inbox, you can either assign new or reopened inbox conversations manually, or they can be assigned to a teammate automatically using Conversation Auto-Assignment, which can be found in the Inbox Settings.
To assign or reassign a conversation manually:
- Select the conversation in the inbox.
- Click on the assign conversation button which is illustrated with a team member's avatar and is located in the top right corner between the Conversation Status and Tagging Conversations buttons.
- Select the teammate you want to assign the conversation to. You can search for the teammate you’re looking for if you don’t see them in the list.
Note:
Replying to an unassigned conversation automatically assigns it to you when you click Send.
Auto-assignment options, which you can set up in the Inbox Settings:
- Random —New or reopened conversations will be assigned to teammates randomly.
- Round Robin—New or reopened conversations will be spread out evenly amongst your teammates.
- Online Teammates Only—If enabled, teammates who are offline will not be eligible for auto-assignment.
- Exclude Inbox Managers—If enabled, Inbox Managers will not be eligible for auto-assignment.
You can also use bulk actions to reassign conversations. See this article for more.
Using Conversation Tags
Tags can be an essential part of your workflow. Even if you are the only person using the inbox, you can tag conversations based on what the contact texted about, if they need to be followed up with, or any other reason you come up with.
To create or manage tags, go to the Inbox Settings. You’ll have the ability to customize the color of the tag and decide if you want the tag to be removed when the conversation is closed.
Once you’ve created tags, you’ll be able to assign or change a conversation’s tags in the top right corner next to the conversation status and assignment buttons.
Tags are available as a filter on the left bar of the inbox. Click on a tag to see conversations that are labeled with that tag. Conversations can have more than one tag.
Closing Conversations
Deciding how and when to close a conversation is essential for keeping your inbox tidy and making sure your contacts who are actively communicating with you stand out from older and inactive conversations.
The easiest way to achieve this level of tidiness is to enable Conversation Auto-Close in the Inbox Settings. This option lets you automatically close conversations after a set number of inactive days. You can also choose to exclude conversations that are still in an Open or Pending status from auto-close.
To close a conversation manually, click the Conversation Status button in the top-right corner of the Inbox and select Closed. To reopen a closed conversation, click the same button and select Open.